Home News About Activities Fellows Publications Contact
12 August 2013

Collegium Ramazzini Fellow Ana Soto named Blaise Pascal Chair in Biology at the Ecole normale superieure in Paris

The Collegium Ramazzini extends its most sincere congratulations to Fellow Ana Soto, who was named Blaise Pascal Chair in Biology at the Ecole normale superieure in Paris.

The Blaise Pascal Chair, (Chaires Internationales de Recherche Blaise Pascal, France) was established in 1996 by the Government of the Ile-de-France Region for internationally acclaimed foreign scientists in all disciplines. A scientific committee annually selects the most outstanding candidates from all over the world. Since its inception a number of famous scientists were the Blaise Pascal Chair laureates: G?rard Debreu (UC Berkeley, 1983 Nobel Prize in Economics), Ahmed Zewail (Caltech, 1999 Nobel Prize in Chemistry), Igor Mel'čuk (University of Montreal, the world leading researcher in linguistics), George Smoot (LBL, 2006 Nobel Prize in experimental Astrophysics), Robert Langlands (UBC, 1996 Wolf Prize, one of the most influential mathematicians of the 20th century), outstanding theoretical physicists Gabriele Veneziano (CERN/College de France), Alexander Zamolodchikov (Rutgers), and others.

Each year four scientists are chosen for this great honor; Collegium Ramazzini Fellow Ana Soto is this year's recipient of the biology chair. Her predecessor in biology is Elizabeth Blackburn, a Nobel Laureate. Professor Soto will spend 12 months in France at Ecole Normale Superieure over two years, working on a project to develop theoretical insights on the complexity of development. Her host is Professor Giuseppe Longo, a member of the European Academy of Sciences.
See announcement (in French) on Ecole normale superieure website.

Questions? Comments! Mail to: events@ramazzini.it